American Red Cross Lifeguard Training

The purpose of the American Red Cross Lifeguarding course is to provide entry-level lifeguard participants with the knowledge and skills to prevent, recognize and respond to aquatic emergencies and to provide care for breathing and cardiac emergencies injuries, and sudden illnesses until EMS personnel take over.

Prerequisites:

Pre-registration is required. Proof of age must be provided at time of registration. The student must be 15 years old on or before the final scheduled session of the course. Each participant will complete a 300 yard swim, continuously demonstrating breath control and rhythmic breathing. Candidates may swim using the front crawl, breaststroke or a combination of both. Swim goggles may be used during the swim. Candidates will tread water for 2 minutes, using only the legs. Candidates will then swim 20 yards, surface dive to a depth of 7 – 10 feet, retrieve a 10 lb. brick, return to the starting point with both hands holding the object and keeping the face at or near the surface, and exit the water without using a ladder or steps. This is a timed event to be completed within 1 minute, 40 seconds. Swim goggles are not allowed during the timed swim.

All materials and equipment will be provided for training. Students only need to supply swimsuit and towel. Females are required to use a one-piece swimsuit. Please bring your book, swimsuit & towel to all class sessions. (Minimum of 3 participants required for class)

Certification Requirements:

The student MUST attend and participate in all class sessions; demonstrate competence in all required skills and activities; demonstrate competency in all required final rescue skill scenarios, and pass both the Section 1 – CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer and First Aid and Section 2 – Lifeguarding Skills final written exams with minimum grades of 80 %.

The American Red Cross certificate for Lifeguarding/First Aid/CPR/AED is valid for 2 years.

Cost: $300.00

See below for our four upcoming sessions

Lifeguard Recertification

Lifeguarding review classes are designed to help you update your skills while also extending your certification for another two years. The Red Cross and Peachtree Dive Center also offers review courses, for those whose certification is still valid (or within 30 days of expiring) while allowing you to continue to work without a lapse in verification

Prerequisites:

Proof of current American Red Cross Lifeguard Certification & each participant will complete a 300-yard swim, continuously demonstrating breath control and rhythmic breathing. Candidates may swim using the front crawl, breaststroke or a combination of both. Swim goggles may be used during the swim. Candidates will tread water for 2 minutes, using only the legs. Candidates will then swim 20 yards, surface dive to a depth of 7 – 10 feet, retrieve a 10 lb. brick, return to the starting point with both hands holding the object and keeping the face at or near the surface, and exit the water without using a ladder or steps. This is a timed event to be completed within 1 minute, 40 seconds. Swim goggles are not allowed during the timed swim.

Lifeguards will demonstrate proficiency with both CPR/AED and First Aid Skills, as well as, all water skills and scenarios. Each Lifeguard will need to pass both the Section 1 – CPR/AED for the Professional Rescuer and First Aid and Section 2 – Lifeguarding Skills final written exams with minimum grades of 80 percent.

Lifeguard Recertification Courses are scheduled on an individual basis. Cost for the Lifeguard Recertification Course is $175. The course is approximately 8 hours in length.


2019 Lifeguard Training Schedule

March 30 - April 4

Weekday Date Time
Saturday March 30 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday March 31 9:00am - 5:00pm
Monday April 1 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday April 2 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday April 3 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday April 4 5:00pm - 10:00pm

April 13 - 18

Weekday Date Time
Saturday April 13 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday April 14 9:00am - 5:00pm
Monday April 15 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday April 16 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday April 17 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday April 18 5:00pm - 10:00pm

May 4 - 9

Weekday Date Time
Saturday May 4 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday May 5 9:00am - 5:00pm
Monday May 6 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday May 7 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday May 8 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday May 9 5:00pm - 10:00pm

June 1 - 6

Weekday Date Time
Saturday June 1 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Sunday June 2 9:00am - 5:00pm
Monday June 3 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Tuesday June 4 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Wednesday June 5 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Thursday June 6 5:00pm - 10:00pm